Argyle Arts
Expand the range of your staff.

Program Notes & Synopses

Enhance your patrons’ experience with notes that highlight the music’s humanity and illuminate its depth. Choose from our wide selection of pre-written pieces or commission custom notes that complement your concert story.

Program Notes & Synopses

Enhance your patrons’ experience with notes that highlight the music’s humanity and illuminate its depths.

Custom Notes

Tell your own concert story by commissioning synopses and program notes that fit you needs. Just tell us what you’d like to have, and we'll get back to you with a quote.


Choose from dozens of ready-to-print program notes and synopses which you can download instantly as a digital file, including a license to reproduce the notes in programs and on your website.*

Scroll down to browse available pieces. Click on a title to view more detailed information, including word counts and excerpts.

* - Notes may be displayed on your website for one year following the performance. Contact us to discuss a longer duration.

Ready-to-Print notes and synopses are priced by length. Need something longer or shorter? Submit a Quote Request for Custom Notes to ask for a modified version, and we'll make it happen!

Chopin: Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor, op. 21

Chopin: Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor, op. 21


514 words
program notes by Chris Myers

Add To Cart

Copyright © 2015 Chris Myers. All rights reserved. Unauthorized distribution or reproduction prohibited.

Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, op. 21
Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
solo piano, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, trombone, timpani, strings

Composed 1829. First performance: March 17, 1830, Warsaw. Frédéric Chopin, piano.

I. Maestoso
II. Largheto
III. Allegro vivace

In the early 19th century, it was traditional for soloists to compose their own virtuoso showpieces—works that would best display their mastery of the instrument. As Frédéric Chopin began preparing for his move to Paris from his native Poland, he knew that he needed such pieces at the ready if he was to be taken seriously. The two resulting piano concerti— opus 21 in F minor and opus 11 in E minor— would be the only pieces Chopin ever composed for orchestra. The F minor concerto was actually composed several months before the E minor concerto; the discrepancy in numbering stems from the fact that the E minor concerto was the first to be published.

These two pieces are often dismissed by musicians and audiences as being inferior in construction to the great concerti of Mozart and Beethoven. It’s doubtful that even Chopin would question his awkward handling of instrumentation and orchestration (he certainly showed no further interest in the orchestra). However, it is unfair to compare the structure of these pieces to the grand classical architecture of his predecessors. Chopin gives no indication of attempting to elevate the form to new levels in these works. Rather, these pieces are written in the contemporary stile brillante tradition, in which the point is not to develop a musical idea through dramatic transformation, but to showcase the performer’s skills, stunning the audience with virtuosic displays through the presentation of loosely-connected musical ideas. On these terms, the work is considerably more successful.

Chopin’s affinity for the piano and disinterest in the orchestra is evident right from the beginning of this piece. The first movement is introduced by the orchestra, but it is only with the entrance of the piano soloist that the music really comes alive. Music and themes that earlier sounded almost by-the-numbers now become passionate and inventive. You will find little of the ensemble-soloist dialogue so central to the Mozart-Beethoven concerto model. Throughout the work, the piano is unashamedly the star, and the orchestra serves only to introduce the audience to its brilliance.

The second movement is a heartfelt nocturne of stunning beauty, with the orchestra supporting an effortlessly melodic piano solo that gives us a hint of why Chopin was known to be such a brilliant improviser. Elegant virtuosic figures ornament these melodies, but it is in this movement that one might best understand Martha Argerich’s insistence that “the virtuosity has to be like an understatement.” The instant the pianist has drawn attention to the difficulty and skill, the spell is broken.

The concerto concludes with a quick-paced rondo in which Chopin proudly declares his Polish heritage. The mazurka dance rhythms of his native land are here transformed into a dazzling display of pianistic skill which brings the piece to a fittingly exciting finale.

View shopping cart

Continue browsing Program Notes & Synopses